The Newport Effect

The Newport Effect: The History of the Newport Folk Festival     


              Thank you to everyone who supported our Kickstarter Campaign!  FolkFans

 If you want to pitch in, please click the logo above to pledge.

                                       Thank you for your support!

Program Description:                                                                

In 1959, a trio of visionaries- Pete Seeger, George Wein and Theo Bikel- created a musical phenomenon known as The Newport Folk Festival.

Newport provided the blueprint and stands as the "grandfather" of contemporary music festivals. It is the legendary festival where Bob Dylan "plugged in", though its legacy reaches far beyond that mythical moment.

The Newport Folk festival introduced its audiences to roots music from around the world, freedom songs, prison songs, political anthems and unforgettable artists - blues giants from the deep south like Skip James and Mississippi John Hurt, the Georgia Sea Island Singers, African penny whistle player Spokes Machiani and flat picking legend Doc Watson, among hundreds of others. The festival resurrected interest in the dying art of Cajun music on its new artists stage - introduced the world to James Taylor, Arlo Guthrie and Joni Mitchell.

The Newport Effect celebrates 50 years of musical excellence, explores the rich social activism of the times and honors the deep and lasting impact of the Newport Folk Festival.



Article in Realtor Magazine: ASCarticle

Article in The Charlotte Observer:Article

Interviews Completed:

Pete Seeger, George & Joyce Wein, Theo Bikel, Joan Baez, Robert "Bob" Jones, Odetta, Peter Yarrow, Judy Collins, Arlo Guthrie, Bernice Johnson-Reagon, Oscar Brand, Doc Watson, David Gahr, Rosalie Sorrels, Del McCoury, Ira Tucker Sr., Frankie Quimby, Jean Ritchie & George Pickow, Geoff Muldaur, John Herald, Suzanne Vega, Richard Shindell, Dar Williams, Catie Curtis, John Gorka, Maura O'Connell, Dave Massengill, The Hackberry Ramblers, Jesse Lege and The Indigo Girls (Amy Ray & Emily Saliers).

Performance Footage:

Odetta, Rosalie Sorrels, Dar Williams, The Indigo Girls, Rosie Ledet, Jesse Lege & Bayou Brew, The Del McCoury Band, David Rawlings & Gillian Welch, Arlo Guthrie, Nanci Griffith, Doc Watson, The Waifs, Slaid Cleaves, The Hackberry Ramblers, Angelique Kidjo, The Blind Boys of Alabama, The Dixie Hummingbirds, John Gorka, Maura O'Connell, Joan Baez, Judy Collins, The Decemberists, Fleet Foxes, Iron & Wine, The Low Anthem, Mavis Staples, The Avett Brothers, Balfa Toujours, The Mammals with Pete Seeger, the Georgia Sea Island Singers, Tim Eriksen presents Shape Note, Melissa Ferrick, Laurie Lewis and Peter Yarrow & Bethany

Stage of Production:

Project Completed.

Seeking Underwriting.

For details, visit:

Copyright 2010 NAKA Productions, Inc. All Rights Reserved.